Must-Have: ‘1000 Places to See Before You Die’

‘1000 Places to See Before You Die’ is more than just a book, it’s a check list for life! Seeing and doing everything Patricia Schultz listed on this book is a life goal for many people, including myself, and that’s why this book quickly became a New York Times Bestseller. ‘1000 Places to See Before You Die’ has already been on my bucket list for a long time, however, as it was not available on any bookshop near me, I only purchased it a couple of weeks ago. Now that I did, I have been loving it so much that instead of placing it on the bookshelf, I put it on my bedside table, so that, I can open in it in a random page before going to bed and dream about a different destination each and every night. Sounds great, don’t you think?

Capturar

The Wanderer Guy Copyright (C) All rights reserved

The book starts with an inspiring Asian proverb that tells us a lot about it: ‘Better to see something once than hear about it a thousand times’. That’s why this books suggests a thousand places in almost every country on Earth that you should visit at least once in your lifetime, so that, after visiting them all you can say that you have actually seen the world and finally rest in peace. Okay, this was creepy!

More than just a list of locations, the masterpiece of the renowned travel journalist Patricia Schultz also describes each and every single place and tells you what you shouldn’t miss there, including attractions, experiences, restaurants and hotels. Ohh, and it also includes tons of useful information like websites, telephone numbers, prices and good advices! Why do you think it has 1200 pages? As I use to say, it’s almost like a Bible, the Wanderlusters’ Bible!

One of the things I love the most about ‘1000 Places to See Before You Die’ is that it not only covers famous places like big cities and iconic attractions but also off the beaten path locations like little villages and natural landscapes. And if you have been following TWG for quite some time, you might have already noticed that I love to go out of the radar and explore those little hidden gems that are out of the common guidebooks and touristic tracks. The four things I hate the most when travelling are crowds, lines, overpriced stuff and people who ruin my pictures!

Capturar

The Wanderer Guy Copyright (C) All rights reserved

But don’t forget: even though I called this book the Wanderlusters’ Bible, you don’t have to follow it religiously (what a bad joke!). I have already been in some places that were included by Patricia Schultz on her book that I don’t find that great, while she forgot to include others that truly deserved to be there. Anyway, this book is still incredible and it’s still worth every single cent it costs (which, by the way, are not that few, if you want to know my opinion)!

Do you have this book? Do you want to? Leave me your feedback.

